Finalists for the 2014 Eco-Logic Awards announced

The 2014 Eco-Logic Awards finalists have been selected. These awards, hosted by The Enviropaedia in association with SABC 3, identify and give recognition to individuals, organisations, products and services that are making a real and measurable difference in creating a more sustainable world to live in. After a national call for entries, the following finalists have been selected:


The Water Conservation Award (Sponsored by TCTA)



WESSA – Eco-Schools Programme



The Recycling Award (Sponsored by Collect a Can)

Wattville Ithuseng Recycling Co-op Ltd.

Plastics SA

Vineyard Hotel

Bay Harbour Market


The Eco-Community Award (Sponsored by SABC3)

Princess Vlei Forum

Msobomvu Community ( supported by Project 90×2030)


Miss Earth South Africa – Public Awareness campaign


The Transport Award

Bicycling Empowerment Network (BEN )


City of Johannesburg – Rea-Vaya Bus Rapid Transit

Blendwell Chemicals


The Climate Change Awards (Sponsored by the Department of Environmental Affairs)

Credible Carbon

Pick n Pay

Food and Trees for Africa

Standard Bank


The Biodiversity Award (Sponsored by Exxaro)

EWT- National Biodiversity and Business Network Programme

Botanical Society – Custodians of Rare and Endangered Wildflowers (CREW) Programme

North Durban Honorary Rangers

WESSA Blue Flag Programme


The Municipalities Award (Sponsored by Santam)

eThekwini Municipality – DSW

Mossel Bay

City of Johannesburg

City of Cape Town


The Eco-Youth Award (Sponsored by Pick ‘n Pay – climate change)

Blake Anthony Combrink

John Lucas

Joshua Nunn

Malukhanye Steven Mbopha


The Eco-Angel Award (Sponsored by ACSA)

Annie Beckhelling

Joe Matimba

Zaitoon Ranabey

Kerryn Morrison


The Energy Saving Award (Sponsored by NBI)

Growthpoint Properties

Paarl Media

Hotel Verde

The Lightie


The Eco-Innovation Award (Sponsored by Breathecoat)


Shark Spotters

Touching the Earth Lightly



The Eco-Warrior Award

Kelvin Cochraine

Karen Allen

Catherine Constantinides

Quinton Martins


Each entry was judged against the seven Eco-Logic principles namely; care for the earth, long-term thinking, holistic thinking, emotional and intuitive intelligence, ubuntu, quality-based (meta-physical) values and innovation.


David Parry-Davis, Publishing Editor of The Enviropaedia and co-host of the Eco-Logic Awards, said, ‘The quality of the Eco-Logic Award entries this year is diverse and inspirational. We received a record number of entries from a diverse suite of projects, organisations and individuals, including big business, municipalities, NGOs, communities, SMEs and pressure groups. They reflect the amazing work that is being done across the country, and left me inspired and optimistic for the future.’

The 2014 Eco-Logic Award winners will be announced at Maropeng (Cradle of Humankind South Africa) World Heritage site in Gauteng on 17 September 2014. For more information on The Enviropaedia and the Eco-Logic Awards please visit:, find us on Facebook: and follow us on Twitter: @Enviropaedia and @EcoLogicAwards or contact Linda Baker on 0861 000 810/